History of Lamond and Murray
Lamond & Murray was formed in 1921 by Charles Lamond & Walter Murray to manufacture haulages or winding equipment for the nearby mining industry.
The company was involved in the “war effort” from 1939-1945 and made equipment for elevating heavy artillery.
By the end of the war the demand for haulages was dwindling and the company began to specialise in gear manufacture and soon became established as one of Scotland's leading sub contract gear makers.
Since the mid 1960's investment in new machinery has been the key to development, notably the purchase of a Sunderland G250 in 1981, increasing capacity of spur, helical and double helical gears to 2.5 metres in diameter, and in 2004, the installation of a Gleason Pfauter P1200 profile gear grinding machine, allowing for the first time, the manufacture of ground gears. Since 2000, other CNC lathes and gear machines have been added. Over this period the factory and offices have been extended on four occasions culminating in the building of a 300 square meter extension in 2004, to house the new profile gear grinder.
These facilities have been used for gearbox refurbishment since 1995 and more recently for the manufacture of special purpose gear boxes up to 8 tonnes in weight.
The company has 31 employees, ranging from engineers of many years service and experience to the most recent apprentices.
Lamond & Murray has four directors. Douglas Lamond, son of Charles, joined in 1948 and is company secretary, having lead the developments of the 1960's, 70's and 80's.
Tom Clarke, who joined in 1962, and Alastair Lamond work jointly as Managing Directors and Iain Lamond looks after sales.
They are supported by experienced office staff and production engineers, involved in accounts, administration, CNC programming, purchasing and planning, as well as the production of working drawings, many of which are reverse engineered.